Torn

I’ve only known you for a couple of years, but you’ve become quite a close friend.  You were the one I called when I was upset over having to leave my Youth unit.  You were the one I ranted to when my line manager put me in an impossible situation.  You were the one who came to me first when my (now, but not then) ex-boyfriend was spreading rumours about me behind my back, and you only grinned and bore it when I accidentally dropped you in it when I dumped him.  You were also the one who teased me incessantly when a guy I really don’t get on with was flirting with me all evening, and even asked me out on a date, and I didn’t even realise.

And despite all this, sometimes you really drive me up the wall.  You’ve just left the Organisation because you’ve fallen out with a number of the new leaders.  I think that this is a silly reason to leave,  and I tried to persuade you not to, but ultimately you’re a volunteer and it’s your choice.  And since you left, you haven’t stopped spouting off, in public I hasten to add, about how it’s all going to go wrong.  You even posted this feeling on Twitter, immediately after one of our colleagues announced that he’d been given a new role within the Organisation.  It was blatantly obvious what you were on about, you weren’t even slightly vague about.  (I’ve already written about how much this annoys me, so I’m not going to labour the point.)

The bit that gets me really cross, however, is what you’ve been complaining about.  Specifically, about how you didn’t appreciate being pulled up on not doing certain activities within the Organisation because you’ve had other commitments.  Now, this is a fair complaint, and I’d have no problem with it, if you hadn’t been doing the same thing to another group of members only months ago.  I have a distinct memory of you berating a student committee for not sending people to events, because they’ve been busy with their university work (and weren’t even qualified), all after I had spent ages reminding them all that they were at University to get a degree, not to do first aid.

Now this attitude annoyed me at the time.  It caused me to have to send one person home to go do their essay which was due the next day (that was one of those, you will be going home now moments I hate).  It also caused one of their (still unqualified) members to be left on their own at an event, because I was running late (and having a near panic attack in case they got called on) and I was the only qualified member going to the event.  Now it’s infuriating, as you’re bitching about someone doing the same to you, and to make it worse, I don’t even think you can see it.

Of cause, there’s no point me discussing this with you, because it will just cause an argument, and I really can’t be doing with that at the moment.  And I care about you dearly, and definitely don’t want to fall out with you over this.   I’ll just have to keep my thoughts in my head, for the moment, and resist the urge to tell you precisely what I think.

And people wonder why I’m not the most sociable person in the world…

 

Tags: , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

