Worrying about Blogging

In light of my recent incidents involving Facebook, I recently got very worried about posting about, well, anything.  When I looked at my incoming referer logs, it was clear that people had come this way from my Facebook page.  Potentially a lot of people, based on the number of hits, though most likely only a couple who just browsed most of my blog.  For a brief while, I was paranoid that all of my friends (at least, those who can see my Facebook timeline) would be heading this way to see what I’d written.  Of cause, I clamped down on what could be seen very fast, and I think I limited the ‘damage’ (the only confirmed person who saw the blog I can cope with), but that didn’t make me feel that much better.  Suddenly, the perceived safety of a pseudo-anonymous blog had vanished.  Perhaps it was time to jack it all in.

Except, I then remembered why I set up this blog.  I write here to express myself, to vent, and because I enjoy writing for its own sake.  Sure, I might have blown my ‘cover’.  Sure, someone I know may actually read this.  I’ve realised it doesn’t matter.  Because this blog is mine, not yours.  I’m not breaking the law (as far as I know), so I can say what I like. You may not like it, but that’s tough.  I still have enough shreds of plausible deniability left to protect me from other members of the Organisation, and ultimately, it’s a free country.  As long as I’m not hurting someone, I can say what I like.

Of cause, this may not make me popular, but if I let that stop me, I’ve lost out, not them.

When I was thinking about all of this (and pondering over a few posts that I could write), an xkcd post comes to mind.  I think it covers quite well my final conclusion.  I think I’ll leave you with that, and, real-life permitting, normal service will resume shortly…

Dreams from xkcd.com

Dreams – from xkcd.com

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

