A New Term Begins

Somehow, the summer holiday has flown past, and the new school year has started.  This evening, I have the first Youth group meeting of the academic year.  I’m not sure if I’m more glad that we’re back, or nervous that it’s all going to go wrong.  It’s been an interesting year already, and it’s only just started…

A couple of days ago, I discovered that it is likely that I’m an adult down this week.  And not just any adult, but my Assistant Leader.  This is not helpful.  Of cause, I don’t know if this is true, because I haven’t spoken to him since the end of term, and isn’t answering my calls or returning my messages.  In fact, very few people have heard from him recently, and then only when he didn’t have their number.  This is less than useful, as it means I’m now just below the ratio I need to run the unit properly (though Safeguarding have said it’s not a major issue, as long as it doesn’t last too long)…

This also means that I now have to run one of the subjects this term.  Which I didn’t want to do.  Okay, I might enjoy teaching, but I really could do with the time to deal with the other parts of my role, like the paperwork, the dealing with parents, and all the other bits of day-to-day running that it would be good to do while everyone is worrying about keeping the young people busy.

On the bright side, I now have three non-commissioned officers to help me out.  These are young people who are given greater leadership and organisational responsibility within the unit, to give them new experiences, and to give us adults a hand.  I plan to hand off a reasonable chunk of work to them, in the hope that they can get on with it with minimal supervision, and so make it less of a problem that I’m an adult down.  I have a meeting with them tonight, and hopefully I will soon have someone responsible for getting our members out to events, someone else responsible for maintaining uniform standards, and another person to help maintain discipline, as well as supervising the other two and helping out with the training.

Now I just have to write my lesson plans, advertise for a new adult and a new Assistant Leader, as well as all the normal new year stuff that will likely take ages.

Sounds like fun…

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

