Housemates!

He’s done it again…  My housemate has invited a couple of people to stay at our house for a couple of nights.  Not once has he asked me if that’s a problem, or if I mind, or even just given me warning that I’d have two strangers (to me) sleeping in the house.

It’s not even as if I’d say no.  I wouldn’t mind if he just warned me, so when these random people turn up my first instinct isn’t ‘who the hell is that in my house’.

I know this is a shared house, and he has as much right to have guests around if he wants.  That I don’t have a problem with.  They’ll probably be using my eating stuff tomorrow (though I’ll be damned if I’m washing it up specially for them…)  I don’t even really mind that they’ve just spent the entire evening on my Xbox (again, not even as much as a ‘do you mind’).  What bugs me is the fact that he doesn’t even seem to have considered the fact that I might mind.

It is tempting to get up nice and early, make myself a nice cooked breakfast, and generally clatter around tomorrow morning and see if he says anything.  I may even ‘forget’ to close the kitchen door, and accidentally set of the smoke detectors like I regularly do when frying things.

It sounds a little mean, as I look at it, but hey, we can both be inconsiderate from time to time if we want…

Tags: , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

