Miscellaneous Rants

I’m feeling a little frazzled at the moment, so am struggling to compile any one thing in to a post.  Just a bit of a stream of consciousness.  Sorry…

Work is being stupid again.  After trying to lay me off once (and nobody has admitted they were responsible for that monumental cock-up), they now have us working over the bank holiday weekend and through a University holiday (not just a student one, the entire uni, in theory, is shut) while they go off and have a holiday.  They’ve left one poor unfortunate soul to try to sort everything out.  I’ve tried to help, spotting a couple of things that appeared to be wrong, and in thanks I got ignored, then shouted down (irritating) and finally patronised (infuriating).  In the end they listened, but only after someone else joined in with me, and we finally got on.

Next, I’m trying to organise Organisation stuff against a close and inflexible deadline, and I need two people to get in touch with me.  I’ve emailed, I’ve called them half a dozen times each and I still haven’t had a reply.  If I don’t hear back, it’s very likely that they’ll not be able to go on duty next year.  This will not make me popular.  Well, it’s that or I try to guess clothing sizes, which probably won’t end well…

Next is my house-mate again.  This time he’s brought someone over (without mentioning it to me…) and is continuing to attempt to impose his taste in everything on me.  So far he’s tried to change how I cook my food (and what I eat), the sort of TV I watch, the sort of films I want to watch (for the thousandth time, I am NOT interested in that comedy) and he doesn’t seem to get that I’m just not interested.  He also complains when I go and hide away in my room to get some peace and quiet, whines when I don’t drop everything and answer my phone when he’s calling and doesn’t seem to get that we don’t have a huge amount in common.  Not to mention that continuous complaints when my cooking/eating stuff is dirty and he wants to eat (and can’t be bothered to dig out his own) or to wash it up himself.  Sufficed to say, this is going to be an interesting year…

Oh yeah, and all this stuff is starting to get me down again, and I’m getting stressed and losing faith in my ability to cope, and then call myself stupid because I know I can cope, and it all breaks down in to an argument of the level of ‘I know you are, so what am I’ running through my head.

Yeah… I seemed to have developed a comma splice…  Never mind…

Time to go buy some ice cream, hide in my room, and hope everything goes away.

And then get very busy tomorrow when it doesn’t…

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

