Cycle Response

Okay, I’m possibly a little excited.  Actually, scratch that, I’m acting like a kid on Christmas morning.

The last parts of my cycle responder uniform turned up this morning.  This is (and yes, I say it again) extremely exciting.

I’ve wanted to join the cycle responders for years now.  The first time I tried to get on the course, it was cancelled two days before.  The next time, after I’d spent some quality time with the cycle response policy, I didn’t think I had a hope of meeting the fitness requirement. That, and the high price for the uniform, I nearly gave up on it.

Somehow I persuaded myself I could do it.  Somehow, we’d raise the money.  Somehow, I’d pass the fitness test.

And I did it.  I passed the tests.  I am planning fundraising with a fellow responder.

This just left waiting for the uniform.  It’s special purpose uniform, so doesn’t get ordered often, and usually has a long lead time. I fully anticipated having to miss some events because I didn’t have the right uniform.

It’s now here.  All of it, in its hi-visibility yellow glory.  Now I feel like a proper cycle responder.

And just in time.  My first event is in just over a week and a half from now.  I can’t wait!

This sounds a little sad, but it feels like a dream come true.  I never thought I’d get to do this.  This is so much more important to me than the upcoming ambulance aid course I’ve been invited to.  True I might be able to go around in an ambulance soon, but I can go out on a bike now.

So yes.  A little excited, I think.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cycle Response Run « The Walking Plaster Dispenser - August 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

