Local Events vs Major Events

This is a bit of a rant on one of my particular pet hates about the local Adult unit.

As an Organisation, we cover both local events, managed by individual units, and what we call ‘major events’, which are managed by a county team.  The latter tend to be huge things that are too large for any individual unit to cover alone, and tend to be the more fun duties (as there’s more going on, and you are therefore more likely to treat).

Now the local adult unit have a policy that, if there is a local event on the same day as a major one, the local one has to be covered first.  In principle this is fine.  However, in practice, you end up with a unit that has the reputation of never going out on duty outside their home town.  And then you get a group of people who feel alienated from the rest of the county when their on courses, get put off doing the advanced skills, and that’s the end of it.

I really enjoy going on duty. If I thought I’d get away with it, I’d go on duty every weekend.  I got told at the unit meeting this evening that they didn’t need to advertise the county events because they already had enough to do.  I’ve not been on duty for nearly a month.  I’ve got four events this month, two of which are county events.  I’d hardly call this enough work for me.

I’m lucky.  As a unit leader, I don’t need anyone’s permission to apply to attend an event.  However, even if I did, this wouldn’t stop me.  I’m a volunteer.  I try to help out at the ‘boring’ events when I can.  I’ll be damned if I’ll let someone stop me going to a local festival because some dull school fete isn’t covered.  This wouldd just make me not go on duty at all that day in protest.

Of cause, this doesn’t make me popular, but what the hell.  I’m in this to enjoy it.  Not to spend every event sat, bored stiff, in some hall while people potter about a car boot sale…

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

