A Brief Pause

Just a quick post to check in while I get some downtime.  As you may have guessed, I’ve been rather busy recently, with upcoming deadlines, Organisation business keeping me even busier, and generally stressing as the academic year comes to an end.  I’m currently sat in Starbucks, taking a break before I go off to an event (second one this week).

I checked my email today and got some stunning news…  I have apparently been nominated for a volunteering prize for my work with the Organisation.  The nomination must have come from someone in the Organisation, as I got the message to my personal Organisation email account, and I have a sneaking suspicion I know who it was.

Of cause, the presentation is next week, quite neatly overlapping with my Cadet meeting, so I won’t be able to go.  It seems a little against the point of the prize to me if I skip a meeting to be presented it.  However, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it…

Also, the Cycle Response course I’ve been looking forward to may be happening in about a month.  I am rather excited!

Of cause, being Friday 13th, I’ve had my glasses break on me while I was changing to come out on duty.  They are currently held together by some dressing tape (classy!) until I get a chance to get my opticians to fix them.  Hopefully it’ll hold until then, and I don’t drop a lens in to the lap of a patient.

Right, must go, duty calls.  I’ll try and get a proper update in some time soon…

Tags: , , , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

