Cycling First Aid

I have wanted to do cycle response with the Organisation for a long time now.  So much so that I would consider delaying my ambulance training to do this.

To my joy, a course is coming up.  It’s super short notice, and I don’t know if I’ll be able to get the time off of work (working weekends sucks…), but that is the least of my worries…

The requirements are simple.  For me, I need to be fit (I think I can meet the standard required), be able to cycle a bike with heavy panniers (done that before) and I need a basic First Aid qualification, with O2 and AED as a bonus (my patient transport qualification covers that and more).  This is all fine.  The catch is the last requirement: ‘Unit to agree to pay for uniform’.

The uniform costs something of the order of £140 per person.  That’s for one set of uniform.  There are three of us who want to do the training at the unit.  That’s more than £400!  This is a sizeable chunk of a youth unit’s budget, not least because we are technically a non-operational unit.  Our main source of income is the cadet subscriptions (despite being told otherwise by everyone else who doesn’t look at our statements…), and I don’t think I can justify the unit spending that much on three members in one go.  I definitely can’t ask them to do it (I certainly can’t afford that much on a single set of uniform).

So this presents me a problem.  I really really want to do this training.  But I just can’t see how I can make it work.  I’ll have to talk to my boss tomorrow.

I can feel this opportunity slowly slipping away from me as I watch.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

