Rank

Outside of the University units, the Organisation is rank based.  It dates back from long ago when we were a paramilitary organisation.

Coming from a University unit, I’m not particularly in favour of rank.  I think it’s an anachronism that shouldn’t be necessary anymore.  Anyone who needs a rank to be able to complete their role shouldn’t be doing it (okay, may be ‘not particularly’ was a bit of an understatement).

Officially, as a Youth Leader, I am now an officer, specifically an Officer Grade 4 (we don’t have rank names, just ranks…)  This comes with the associated regalia on my uniform, and a vague requirement to where stupid things on my cap and a fancy dress uniform (that is more than a little expensive…).  And I am not impressed…

So far I haven’t been officially presented with rank, and so I can get away with for a little while.  Unfortunately, TheBoss, and her boss, are rather efficient, and so it’s only really a matter of time.  And, if I don’t wear my rank once I’ve been given it, I know full well I’ll never hear the end of it.  So I’ll have to relent.  I suppose, for the most part, it’ll only be three pips on my rank slides, but, to me, it’s more the principle of the thing.  ‘I’ve never needed rank before, and I don’t need it now.’  Which, I know, is not the most persuasive argument in the world.

I do, however, draw the line at being called sir when we’re not at something formal.  Because that annoys me.  A lot.

Except, of cause, NursaryMan knows this.  And so will take every opportunity to call me sir, just to wind me up…

*sigh*  Why is it the odd problems that always catch me out…

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

