Irreplaceable

There’s likely to be a few more of these sort of posts in the near future.  Sorry about that, but my project (or more specifically, my project group) are seriously annoying me at the moment.  Hopefully I’ll get to go on duty soon and have something interesting to write about.)

Our supervisor has said that it would be a good idea for everyone to switch around their parts of the project, so they don’t get stuck in a rut while designing.  That’s fine, in principle, though possibly of questionable usefulness.  You’ve gone ahead with it, with everyone.

But you’ve not really thought this through.  You have forgotten that, for all of the last couple of weeks, people have made a big point of mentioning that they don’t understand half of what I’ve produced.  And I have made no secret of the fact that I’ve done no mechanical engineering for two years, and to call me rusty would be an understatement.  I am also down on the project cover as a Control Engineer.  And you want taking all of the control work away from me.

And then you act surprised when I dig my heels in.  I am not going to get very good marks if you hand me a mechanical engineering design to finalise.  If you hand my work to someone else, keeping in mind that I’m the only person in the group who had even heard of the technology I want to use before we started the project, and the only person who’s done any serious control theory, they are not going to get good marks.  You grumble because I’m being stubborn, and it can’t be that hard.  I point out that I’ve done two modules on control now, and I probably won’t find it easy.  For someone else, it’s going to be extremely hard.  You suggest that I could help.  I point out that I don’t really have the time to teach two modules worth of control theory to someone else, as well as writing my report on a subject I don’t really understand.

Thankfully, this is the point where you relent.  I have my section of the project back (and with it, my chance of getting a first), and you have to hand my bit to someone else.

Something tells me I’m not going to get rated high on my level of teamwork.  However, I have discovered that when I need to be, I can be enough of a pain in the arse to make you change your mind.  Excellent.

Tags: , , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

