Group Project Work

I hate group project work.

I don’t mind working in a group.  This isn’t a problem.  What I hate is working in a group with people who can’t be bothered, and people I find extremely irritating. Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t everyone in the group, but at the moment I have a Business Manager who is irritatingly smug all the time, and if anyone dares argue with him he makes this annoying eye rolling ‘I can’t believe this’ expression that just rubs me up the wrong way.  And there’s the person who has told us that he basically gets no work done between 1000 and about 1900, after we all decide on doing a 0900-1700 day.  Oh, and he’s made it clear straight away that if he can’t see the point in something (read: if he won’t get marks from it) he’s not going to bother.  Both of which are going to make actually working with him hard work…

The others are okay, though our leader is a little weak-willed at the moment (I am hoping she’ll start making firm decisions when deadlines start looming).  There is the potential (I stress ‘potential’) for some interesting electronics in it, but I doubt I’ll have time to get to the level of detail I would actually want to do.  I imagine I’ll be lucky if I get anywhere near the actual design of the software control stuff that I like doing, and it’s not as if I’ll ever be able to test it on anything except a mathematical model (which I’ll probably never get enough information to actually make properly…)  I see this project grinding to a halt long before the interesting electronics stuff can be started…

Oh yes, and the idea of handing in finished work early seems alien to these guys…

Tags: , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

