All Generalisations Suck

So, still in on holiday, waiting in my room until someone comes back (or until I fall asleep…).  Still a bit grumpy, and blogging up a relative storm.  Still ranting, though I will probably blog about the holiday (probably on the trip home, or once I’ve woken up the next day.)

On the whole, today has been a good day on the slopes.  We went on our first red slope yesterday, and today we went on another new one.  This was more difficult than yesterday’s, but came with the awesome achievement that we had skied all the way down the mountain.  It was hard, there’s no denying that.  Everyone in our group struggled with it, and we had more than a few falls on the way down. (The sort of falls we got tend to be the fun sort where you are on the floor before you realise, slide a few meters on the snow, and most importantly don’t get hurt.)

My mum, who doesn’t like heights, didn’t feel able to go more than the first few meters, so she and my dad walked back up to the top while we continued.  An Australian lady with us got to the bottom, but was a bit shaky afterwards.  When we started up again in the afternoon, there were a few shaky legs (mostly belonging to my mum and dad who were knackered after their walk), and a little fear after the long trip from a couple of the people (mainly my mum and the Aussie).  For the most part, the group was fine, though struggling a little at the slower speeds (some of the manoeuvres are easier when moving at a reasonable speed).

All this time, Dad is going on and on about how everyone is a little shaken from that big run, and how we’ve all had a bad day, and other similar generalisations.  I realise some of it might have been for Mum’s benefit.  However, it was difficult not to add ‘hang on a minute, most of us did fine, thank you very much’.  Sure it was a scary trip, but it was definitely worth it, both for the achievement when we reached the bottom, and for some of the views (hopefully some of the photos I took have come out).  Of those of us who went all the way down, all but one enjoyed it when we reached the bottom.  I’m sorry if it sounds selfish, or overly sensitive, but it is irritating having an achievement like that belittled by such sweeping generalisations.

So I’m doubly grumpy at the moment.  Hopefully tomorrow will be better (parents-wise) and we have no falling out.  This is, after all, a holiday.

In other news, some group is singing a drunken rendition of ‘Drunken Sailor’, possibly in Polish, I’m now more comfortable after showering away the cigarette smoke, and my brother has just arrived (thankfully it’s only 2155).  But he’s not having a shower, so the room is going to smell even more of cigarettes… Grr…

Tags: , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

