I Passed

Hypothermia stretcher

Image via Wikipedia

I forgot to mention a few months back.  I passed my Patient Transport assessments.  It was a very weird feeling being on the other side of the deal, treating instead of being treated.  I can certainly sympathise with all the people who make the silly mistakes.  Nothing is half as obvious when it’s you who is being scrutinised…

My treatments were all fine, as was my dealing with the patient.  We had to have two goes at the resus because my partner froze.  The second time around I was told to step back, to allow her to demonstrate the competence we all knew she had.  I ended up being held outside the assessment room an annoying amount of time ‘getting equipment’, and then spending ages calling for an ambulance.

I understand the reasons, but having to stand outside while I can hear my partner struggling to get going had me climbing up the walls with the AED I had been sent to get.  Oh, and doing that in the same room, watching my partner struggle with nerves, and spotting all the little mistakes that I could have solved without a problem, grated.  I have never been so keen to do CPR in my life… Fortunately, second time was lucky.

My partner and I, two very slight people, were nearly referred on our lifting, but we got it right on the second go and it was put down to lack of confidence and over-caution.

Needless to say, I’m rather pleased.  The second part of the course, the Emergency Transport section, is hopefully going to be mid next year, and I can’t wait.

Now all I have to do is work on my lifting, revise my First Aid Manual, learn my Ambulance Manual.  Oh, and pass my Uni exams, get through this years group project work (which I already think is going to be a nightmare), and survive my new job.  Could be an interesting year…

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

