Good Times

Some times being a Youth Leader is a pain in the proverbial.  The kids muck around, the staff lose all ability to control them and we get nothing done.  These days the three uniformed leaders tend to pop in to the pub on the way home (provided we have a change of clothes, can’t take our uniform in to a pub, of cause).

However, these are more than made up for by the good days.  When this role gets good, it really gets good.

One of our youth members joined about the same time as I did.  He was really quiet, and only really talked to the two friends that came along with him (who have since left).

His mother and I were having a chat one day after sorting out getting him on duty (picture massive amounts of paperwork and organisation!). She told me that this was the first thing that he had ever stuck with for such a long time, and that he was always genuinely keen to come along every evening.  Not just this, but during the time he’s been here he has become one of our keenest members.

It might not sound like much, I suppose, but to me the idea that we have inspired this young person to stick with something, and kept him interested enough to have him wanting to come back week after week, is really really awesome.  It makes me proud of what I do with the Organisation, and not just the ‘normal’ first-aid things.

The beginning of this year was rubbish, both from my disappointing industrial placement, and all the politics and maneuvering I had to deal with at my University unit.  Since I moved to this Youth group, while it’s brought around its own problems, I have had the best few months with my volunteering that I’ve ever had.

The leadership position opening to applications very soon.  After all the agonising and umming and ahhing,  I think I’ve decided. I’m going to go for it.

I think I have found my place in the Organisation now, at least for the time being.  It’s time to grab it with both hands and hold on tight.  Who know’s where I’ll be this time next year.

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

