A Solution. Hopefully.

I had my chat with one of my bosses last week. I think she understood where I was coming from, and we came up with an idea to try.

I am now doing the absolute minimum Youth work outside of weekly meetings. Except for printing (I can photocopy at HQ, but not print), everything I need to get done will have to be done in the two-hour slot I have once a week. If I can’t get it done, I send it back to my immediate boss.  Hopefully this means no more desperate phone calls at 20:55 (we’re not allowed to call anyone between 21:00 and 09:00) to get people information, or frantic writing of letters to advertise courses that have been forgotten.

In my mind, it’s not ideal. It feels too much like abandoning my post. However, if it gets my stress levels back down, it’ll be worth it. And it’s only until the end of this Semester. Then I can continue stressing over the unit without it interfering with my course.

The other major disadvantage is that, if I’m disciplined and stick with it, I can’t go dashing around picking up the things that my leader misses.  There seems to be the distinct possibility that things are going to slip, and there’s not a huge amount I can do about it. It’s already looking like our presentation evening isn’t going to happen any time this year, some of our new members are definitely going to miss the induction session next weekend, and I’ll be astonished if any of the slightly less new ones get a first aid qualification before Christmas.

Despite this, I’ll be good and take a step back. I daren’t do otherwise, as I’ll end up dropping out completely if I don’t. Then, when the leader role is advertised again at the end of the year, I’ll go for it. And get things sorted.

Or try to, at least…

Tags: , , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

