Home Alone Again

This year, after I finished my work placement, I decided I would remain in UniTown and try to find some part-time work to earn me some money. This would be the first time I didn’t go home for a University holiday when I wasn’t working, and the first time I’d stayed in UniTown for the entire summer.

To cut a long and boring story short, the hunt for work was a complete and utter failure. The only response I ever received was an email to say thank you, but no thank you. Needless to say, I’m not impressed.

Yes, I’ve had plenty to do for the Organisation for the past couple of months, and I couldn’t really have gone home during the School Term as I was needed at my Youth Unit, but for a good month this month I could have gone home, seen my parents, and generally bummed around with my friends, and probably saving money in the process.

Instead, I’m bumming around, not really getting any of my Organisation planning done, only seen my parents briefly, and seen even less of my friends. And been paying full rent and utilities for the privilege.

Yet again, I’m in a house designed for four (the same house as when I complained at the beginning of the year, in fact), rattling around and generally feeling down. I’ve tried to get out of the house as much as possible, going to every event in the area that I can get to, but that still leaves me with a stupid number of hours alone in this house. In short, it is driving me nuts.

It’s times like this that I start to think that going to this Uni was a mistake. The only advantage I can see is that I’ve made a few good friends, and I joined the Organisation, which has shown me where I think I probably want to go.

I suppose there I’ll just have to concentrate on that silver lining. Though, it doesn’t make the house feel any less empty.

Tags: , , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

