Still Looking Back

Whenever I’m writing after about 19:00 (when BBC Radio 1, my preferred radio station, gets a bit rubbish) I tend to have the Battlestar Galactica soundtrack playing in the background. As I have yet to summon the money to get all the CDs, this means I have to have YouTube open in another tab, but that’s hardly a problem as I’m usually writing online. (If anyone’s interested, this is my playlist: http://bit.ly/bBWsfP . It’s basically all five soundtracks combined in to a single playlist.)

As I was writing my last post, I noticed that the soundtrack brings up it’s own memories from the past, and I found myself choking up just a little. Now some of this is down to the music itself. The soundtrack is indescribably beautiful, and a good number of the tracks are sad. After all, the series is quite literally about the near end of humanity (if you haven’t seen this new series, you are seriously missing out. Go buy the miniseries… now!). But, that wasn’t all of it.

When the series started, nearly six years ago (oh crap! That long!), I was still at school. For the first three series, before I started at University, my friends and I would obsess over this program during most of our breaks. We were forever trying to tease out some hint from some half-imagined clue, or decipher some additional meaning out of some possibly prophetic line. It was the most involving series we had all come across, and we threw ourselves in to it.

I worked out, as I type this post at my room in an otherwise empty house, this is what I miss. I haven’t lived full-time in my home time for three years now, while most of my friends never really left, instead going to the local University for their studies. In the last six months, or so, I’ve spent a whole two days in their company, probably not much more than 18 hours in total.

And, as time passes, this is very likely to get less. Most of these friends have graduated already, and will be going on to work, or PGCEs, or other things like that. At this moment, I have two more years of this degree, and it’s likely I’ll be moving on to do another one soon after. And while I’ve got new friends, both in the Organisation, in my Uni department (though not really on my course…) and in my shared house, it’s just not really the same. Some of us had spent years as friends. One in particular I have known since we were both about five (and it’s a scary thought quite how long a period of time that is…) Everyone up here I’ve only met in the last couple of years, and, in most cases, we don’t have nearly as much in common.

For all the stress and problems of the time, I sometimes wish I could go back to those years.

Woah, am I on a downer…

Tags: ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

