Social Networking

The Internet is a strange thing, and social networking doubly so. We’ve all heard the stories of people with thousands of friends on Facebook, most of whom they don’t talk to, or, for that matter, even know. I will say now that I know everyone in my friends list (I think), even though I don’t talk to a vast majority of them.

Twitter’s a bit different, however. I follow a few people under the username @wplstrdispenser, and a very small few follow me. And I chat with some, joke around with others, and, to my surprise, actually get replies. These are people I’ve never met, and who I’d almost certainly not notice if we walked past in the street (no offense 🙂 ). It just strikes me as bizarre… Brilliant, but bizarre.

Oh, and I’ve noticed I’ve started getting hits referred from my twitter profile, which means to me that someone’s actually reading the random dribble I tweet about…  Obviously I never really got all of this until now.

Oh, and if anyone does come here, from anywhere, do leave a comment. Or tweet me, and I’ll try to get back to you, just as soon as I can.

Tags: ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

