Double-Edged Sword

a double-edged sword

a situation or course of action having both positive and negative effects

Oxford English Dictionary

I have deliberately not mentioned my real name, or the organisation I volunteer for. There are advantages and disadvantages to this.

One of the biggest advantages is that I can pretty much say what I like (as long as it isn’t libellous) and I won’t bring the Organisation into disrepute. I can complain about how the Organisation works, grumble about my fellow volunteers or gripe about the young people I work with, and most people won’t know who I mean. (I say most deliberately. With enough hard work, nobody is anonymous on the Internet…)

It also makes maintaining patient confidentiality much easier. If you don’t know where I have been treating, or even when (few of my posts go out immediately), it makes identifying my patients almost impossible. So long as I don’t write about anything unique (and I seriously doubt I’ll get anything truly unique), they could be anyone in any town in any county. Which is the way I like it.

The latter also gives a disadvantage. I attend quite a few high-profile events. If I was to specifically mention a couple of them, it wouldn’t be difficult to work out my Organisation. Mentioning a few others would localise me to a county, if not a town. Which would likely blow my cover quite quickly. Any of these would severely limit what I felt I could write about. And that would be that.

So some of my stories will stay under my hat. Unfortunately, those are usually the good ones…

Tags: ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Anonymous Blogging « The Walking Plaster Dispenser - April 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

