Summer Ball = Much Work + Much Fun

Last weekend was the University’s Summer Ball. This is basically a giant party for all the graduates to celebrate the end of their time at university, and for everyone else (if they can get tickets – it sells out in minutes!) to celebrate the end of the year. It is one of the largest events we cover on campus, in terms of area covered, and only the Fireworks Display in November has a larger number of people attending.

I am a member of the Technical Crew society at the University. Nowhere near as active with them as I am with my First Aid activities, especially over the past year where I have been on placement. I am more interested in the theatre style shows they run, but they clashed with my working hours, which basically ruled me out.

No matter what our interests are, be us lampies (like me, in an ideal world), noise boys (or girls), stage managers, or whatever, we all like to get to the big events. Not only does this make everyone’s life easier (they really are big events…), I find it gives a tremendous sense of achievement to see something I’ve been working on all set up and looking great on the night.

I can’t be as involved as some people. As I tend to be a First Aider at the event as well, I have to be very careful about the number of hours I’ve been working before I go on duty. This tends to mean a lie in on the day of the event, and no rigging that day, which does mean I tend to miss it all coming together at the end. However, getting to see the finished product, free, from a ‘punter’s eye view, means I don’t mind too much.

It was a q-word event this year. Normally we are rushed off of our feet in the post, and are forever ferrying drunks home or to A&E. This time we were mostly getting bored.

The one disadvantage of being both Crew and First Aider is that I get the late nights every night, instead of getting a night off like most people. I am still tired at stupid times in the day, and as I’m typing this at 00:40 in the morning without difficulty, my sleep cycle is probably going to be thoroughly screwed for a while yet. Slightly irritating after getting in to some fairly good habits while I was working…

Still, it was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, and I was completely distracted from how screwed I am with my degree. Not a bad thing at the time. If only it hadn’t come back with a vengeance once I’d finished.

Tags: , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

