Cycling Decision

I mentioned a while back that I was very interested in getting involved in the Cycle Response section of the Organisation. To me, the CRU seems much more interesting than the working on an ambulance, however prestigious having an ambulance qualification might be in this Organisation (don’t get me started on this…)

It’s not going to be long before I have to make an important decision. I am told by our County Ambulance Officer, BigPara, that it won’t be too long until the first Ambulance course is held. I intend to go to it. However, in this area, the first course, which centres around Patient Transport, is mainly considered to be a stepping stone to the next one, the Emergency Care bit that fully qualifies us to crew one of the Organisation’s emergency ambulances.

BigPara has always seemed keen to get me on to this course. The first thing he said to me after I got out of my Medical Gases assessment last year was “so when are we getting you on a Patient Transport course?” I like to think of this as a vote of confidence. I would hope that he wouldn’t recommend someone for a course if he didn’t think they could pass it. I even signed up for the course based on this (up until then I’d been doubting that I was ready to do it).

However, now I’ve come across a few more opportunities, and I find myself wanting to do them all. Which means I need to decide. I’ll do the first course, if only because it makes life easier when I need to do my yearly revalidation. The choice is whether or not I continue to the full level. If I do, I get to crew ambulances, a whole new range of opportunities open up, but I might not get to do my cycling. If I don’t, I’ll be left with a qualification that doesn’t really mean much, and the possibility that the cycling will never happen.

I hate decisions like this.

Tags: , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cycling First Aid « The Walking Plaster Dispenser - May 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

