Rowing Event

This weekend, after a plea for help from NewDoc, I volunteered to help out at a Rowing Event in BigCity. This is not unlike the famous Boat Race between Oxford and Cambridge Universities, though the competitors are the slightly less well-known BigCity and WorkTown Universities.

NewDoc provide to be his efficient self as normal, distributing an operational plan shortly before the event, which I dutifully read before the day.

I got a bit of a shock when I read this bit:

Due to this being a University event it is likely to involve a considerable amount of alcohol and there is the potential for violent behaviour between the spectators…

Now I agree that student events can have a large alcohol presence, and that alcohol can make people violent, but this was a rowing event. Rowing! Unruly drunks are not something you picture at this sort of event.

It turns out that this was part of a series of similar events between the universities, and at the past two events fights had indeed broken out between the Universities. NewDoc also explained to me that there was often more than a bit of friction between the two universities, to the degree that members from one routinely went down to the other to cause a fight!

I’m pleased to say that doesn’t happen between the two Universities in UniTown…

When I actually arrived at the event, the nice weather we had just been enjoying evaporated. The clouds had closed in and it felt like rain wasn’t far off. In a way, this was good for us. There were no huge crowds, and none of the people who did come seemed up for anything more than a bit of raucous cheering. The feared fighting never materialised, and we only got two casualties in the entire day. This is good for the crowd and the event organisers, but rather dull for us.

I, however, make two interesting finds. First, there was a very nice pork carvery at the event, and we had food vouchers. We all rather enjoyed our lunch, though it did occur to us that being called to a patient while still covered in sandwich would be rather embarrassing, however nice that sandwich might be.

NewDoc then introduced me to a mocha. It is certainly very different to my normal hot chocolate. I’m not completely sure, as I definitely prefer my hot drinks sweet, but I suspect it’s a taste I might quickly acquire, especially once I’ve experimented with the various options they have. It also seems to be NewDoc’s preferred drink (which of cause is irrelevant, of cause…).

Boredom aside, it was a very pleasant duty. I always enjoy working with NewDoc (*cough*) and I got on well with the other First Aiders there as well. It’s also always good to go to different events from time to time. It’s too easy to get stuck in the rut of ‘same old same old’, and if I do, I’ll know it’s time to give this all up.

Tags:

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

