Long Time No See

Been a while since I last posted on here. Not really had any inspiration, and work and rubbish from The Organisation have been getting me down. Needless to say, motivation was at an all time low.

Fortunately, I have nearly finished at work now, only a few weeks to go (and boy am I counting them). Thankfully I’m not around when my successor gets here (his contract starts the week after mine end, and I’m taking my last week off), so I won’t have to go through the hassle of handing over to someone new. Not that I have anything worth handing over to him anyway. My project at the moment is a software one (probably the most engaging thing I’ve done all year), so he probably won’t get it, and I’m handing that over to someone else anyway. It’ll probably be the software Student’s problem, and God (or the deity of his choice) help him. It’s grown into a bit of a monster…

As for the Organisation, I am now very nearly done with my old unit, and quite firmly entrenched in my new youth one already. With the old leadership moving on, they’re now looking for an entire new team, more or less. One of my friends NurseryMan has applied for the job of leader, and at the moment I just plan to be a helper. What I end up doing remains to be seen, though I have already been christened secretary, as I’m about the only one who seems to know what’s happening paperwork-wise, and I also hold the keys for the building (scary!  I don’t have an excellent track record with keys…)

NurseryMan seems to think that I’m being eyed up for the leader role, but I’ve assured him that they can go take a running jump. Having just finished what was probably the worst year of my career with the Organisation, I have no intention of taking on the lead (though I did mention to NurseryMan that I’d consider Assisting if asked). It is almost certainly a case of ‘once bitten, twice shy’, and that’s probably my entire point.

I’ll just have to wait and see now. I think I’ve made my stance quite clear, but, given my past experience with this Organisation, what everyone else thinks could be rather different…

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

