Juggling

First proper duty in a while a couple of days ago, attending a Juggling Convention.  Two other adults, two youth (who I shall christen SuperKeen and MotorMouth for the nicest possible reasons 🙂 ) and I sat in the corner of one of the Sports Halls at Uni for most of the day, watching lots of people chuck various objects in to the air, and then try to catch up. Oh, and balance other unlikely things and, more worryingly, people, on themselves, other things, and other people.

This event has run twice now, once a year, and I’ve been to both events. Nothing really happened last time, and nothing really happened this time. Most people of the people there know what they can do, know what they can’t, and know what to do when it all goes wrong. Those that are doing something genuinely new were guided by someone who knows these three things. The adults there, myself included, were well aware of this fact, we didn’t expect to treat.

The youth members that come out to events tend to be the keen ones. Particularly when they’re young. MotorMouth was fine, quite happy to be out and about and people watching (the unofficial hobby all of us share…), and talking a mile a minute as ever. SuperKeen just wanted to be treating everyone and anyone, and unfortunately this is the wrong sort of event of that.  In his defence, this was the first event where he could actually treat someone (with me hovering over his shoulder just in case). Hopefully, as he gains some real experience, he’ll learn a bit more about how these things work, and perhaps become a little bit more patient with this sort of event. (End old man moment…)

Super’ was lucky (sort of). We had one patient just as he was about to leave (the event was too long for the youth members to stay the entire day), someone asking for a support for his wrist. He didn’t get to treat, as the patient was the grumpy sort who was impatient enough as it was. I decided having his treatment stretched out while I talked someone through it was a bad idea. He did, however, have a go at the paperwork.

This was a good call. I started strapping this man’s wrist, and he almost immediately began to complain that he couldn’t really move his wrist, and probably wouldn’t be able to juggle. He asked me to do something less restricting. Unfortunately my repertoire only includes one support bandage, and while it works quite well, it does restrict movement.  This is almost by design, as it’s difficult to support a joint with restraining it a little.  It was that or nothing.

Eventually, and with bad grace, he went with the bandage, which I fortunately finished off quickly.

After making a poor attempt to pretend to listen to my basic care advice, which I always give to help prevent further injury, he disappeared, leaving me and my young friend to deal with the paperwork. This became a quick lesson on completing the Patient Report Form, perhaps supporting my decision on allocation of work.

Super’ and I are partnered up again soon, with one other youth member, at one of the first major events in the area. This will be the first large duty both can go to with sufficient qualifications that allow them to treat. This will hopefully make an easy event for me, as between them they should easily be able to manage both the treatment and writing up of the likely injuries, and the ones they can’t deal with are rare.

Of cause I’ll be closely supervising and paying supreme amounts of attention.

Of cause 😉

Tags: , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

