Thoughts on Disappointment

Those of you paying attention will have noticed that I had hoped to be on a course this weekend just gone. I wanted to be at least some of the way in to cycle response training by now.

At the last-minute, the course was cancelled. Needless to say, I’m very disappointed. I realise it could have been worse, I haven’t been turned down, and the course didn’t go on without me. But I still would have loved to have been on that course. I really don’t want to have to wait the weeks or months until they try to run the course again.

The wait also leaves me with a decision to make. I have been told (admittedly indirectly) that it is possible that if I complete my ambulance training, I might not get on to the cycle response course. In a way it makes some sense, the ambulance crews end up on ambulances. I probably wouldn’t end up on a bike unless they were in desperate need of bikes, or have enough ambulance crews (this is rare).

I particularly want to become a cycle responder. As I can’t drive, if I go on an ambulance I’m always going to have to be put with someone who can drive. While this means I’m almost always likely to be in the back with the patient, it also seems like a bit of a limit to me. Cycling, is much more my thing. I’m much more confident on two wheels than four. Yes it means I could be responded alone (a slightly scary thought), but with backup a matter of minutes away if really necessary, I think I can deal with it.

So now I have to decide. Do I continue with my original plans, finish my ambulance training, and risk not being able to do something I’ve wanted to do for ages? Or do I delay the ambulance stuff, on the chance that I might get on to a very small course, but possibly delaying my ambulance training even more without gaining anything.

I think one thing doesn’t need any thought. If both courses are on at the same time, I know which will win…

Tags: ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cycling First Aid « The Walking Plaster Dispenser - May 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

