Busy Again

Yet again, I seem to have got myself booked up several weeks in advance.

Last weekend, I was off to play casualty again for BigPara. It was assessment weekend, so plenty of scenarios to keep me and my fellow casualty busy. Saturday, after an interesting session on Emergency Child Birth, I spent the day getting collared and boarded. Nothing new there.

Except there was a difference this time. I had ‘damaged’ myself up a narrow flight of stairs. This meant that, had the scenario run it’s full course, the crew would have had to carry me down the stairs. There is only one way that could have been done: on a board, feet first.

Luckily for me, they didn’t have to take it that far.  Unfortunately, BigPara still had to be sure they would have succeeded. This basically meant that they had to lift the long board up to the vertical.  With me strapped to it.  Or more accurately, suspended from the straps.  That was an interesting experience.

Next day, I was the resus patient.  Cue one CVA, also known as a Stroke. In my case, this was heralded by Expressive Dysphasia, where I had great difficulty with spoken language, and an inability to control my left arm. These are two classic signs of a stroke. If you live in the UK, you’ve almost certainly seen the adverts for FAST, a protocol to help identify a stroke (if you haven’t, I can’t recommend reading that web page enough).  I ticked two of the boxes, Speech and Arms.  Oddly enough, once the crew knew what was going on, I was quickly hustled out of the room I was in.

Unfortunately for them, I arrested just as they arrived at their ambulance. How inconvenient of me ;). One resuscitation attempt later, and I was done (or is that done for).

Last weekend was fun, but next weekend has the potential of being better.

I have applied to join our cyclists, and the training is happening this weekend. If I manage to get one of the five places on the course (eek!) I could be learning to cycle around with a ridiculous amount of gear on one of our amazing push bikes :D. If you hadn’t guessed, I’m a little excited, and a lot nervous.

I suspect the rest of the week is going to include me compulsively checking my emails, hoping for a response.

Tags: , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

