Home Alone, Panto and Snow

I don’t like living alone.  I am currently in rattling around in a house designed for four, and nobody else is likely to turn up for at least a couple of days.  This sucks.  Even though I don’t see very much of my housemates on a normal day, it is nice to know there’s someone else around.

Thankfully I had Theatre Duty this evening, so I had a good reason to get out of the house.  It is panto season, one of my favourite parts of the year.  Sometimes the Theatre Duty is a drag, with dull plays that I try not to fall asleep in.  I love panto season, and this year’s one lived up to it’s ‘brilliantly bad’ reputation.  Frustratingly, I ended up doing the duty on my own, not an ideal situation.  By the time I knew this, I was already at the Theatre, and I didn’t really feel that I could leave again.  Thankfully nothing happened, though I was a little nervous.

I got home just in time for the news.  Apparently, there is currently a severe weather warning out for HomeTown, and I some form of warning or caution out for UniTown and WorkTown.  I have work tomorrow, and the commute there involves a train journey, preceded by a walk down hill.  Last year, when it snowed and they ran out of grit, this walk was particularly unpleasant.  I’ll have to wait and see about tomorrow, but I could be getting in late…

Look after yourselves in this cold weather.

Tags: , , ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

