Holiday Time

I’ve just got back from my Christmas holiday.  One week spent skiing in Austria with my family, as part of the first two weeks of real holiday I’ve had since I started my work placement.

I’ve never been skiing before, none of my family have.  My Dad kept saying one of us was going to hurt ourselves.  A lot of people said we’d end up at least aching after the first day.  I was beginning to get images of having to treat some member of my family who had overdone it.

Fortunately we all got away with it.  No serious injuries, and the only First Aid I had to do was make up an ice-pack for my Mum.  A proper old-fashioned one with water ice and a triangular bandage.  Playing around with the stuff to get it suitably cold, and holding it all in place, I definitely missed the fancy chemical instant ice packs I carry in my response kit while on duty.  I’d forgotten how long it takes for these ‘old-fashioned’ ones to get cold enough to actually achieve something, though they do last a lot longer.

The most entertaining incident we had has to have been a highly entertaining collision between my Dad and my Brother.  We were coming down one of the easy slopes, practicing ‘snowplough turns’ down the slope.  Our instructor had the entire group heading down in a line, each following the person in front.  We were half way down, doing well, until my Dad and Brother starting crossing each other’s path.  I was following behind them, keeping well clear of them both.

Their first couple of turns were fine, but getting closer together.  Then one got too close.  I could see the collision coming well before it happened, and so could they.  Unfortunately, there was nowhere to go.  It was a classic cartoon collision, arms and skis going everywhere, leaving both in a pile on the floor.  I doubled up laughing, just managing to keep upright myself.  They were both unhurt, but it took a couple of minutes for them to sort themselves out.

I hope everyone had as good a Christmas as I did, and that the credit crunch isn’t hitting you too hard.

Tags: ,

About The WalkingPlasterDispenser

So who is the Walking Plaster Dispenser? Well, I'm a volunteer First Aider, working with a well-known First Aid charity to help out random people I've never met before (or, more usually, when) they hurt themselves. This typically involves walking briskly (never run...) around after people who are silly enough to do sports or some other suitably daft activity in their free time. In my spare time, I am a graduate engineer, working my way through a graduate scheme with a big engineering company.

Leave a Reply

